negative criticism makes you try harder.

9 Sep

The judges’ comments from the City Paper contest just got posted, and I pretty much got burned…Emily Flake said “Poorly imagined and lame. Drawing could work for something but get somebody else to write it” which hurts because I really like Emily Flake’s Lulu Eightball, and also because saying “lame” for something you think is stupid or bad is some ableist bullshit straight up. Benn Ray, whose comics I haven’t seen but owns Atomic Books, said “Perry Bible much? Polished line work but underneath it all beats the heart of a Cathy”. Which sucks because as you probably know, I loathe Cathy.

Exhibit A:
sc052b01eb

deets:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

note the “*not cathy”.

This other dude Tom Scocca who I think just makes fun of various comics for a living said “Disturbing in maybe a good way, but not-funny in a bad way” which I think a) might be a comment on the comics I chose to send and b) a comment on the City Paper’s taste, which runs towards anal sex with animals and anything soaked in alcohol.

But Tony Millionare, who draws Maakies, another one of my favs, said, “This could become a great comic. It is drawn well and has soul. The drawings alone are saying more than the words. With time, this person could become great” which makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. I’m going to wrap myself up in that one.

And also not do my entry for next year the day of the deadline while chatting with my teachers.

❤ jenna b.

2 Responses to “negative criticism makes you try harder.”

  1. Kee-wee September 12, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    yeah!! fuck those bitches! listen to tony millionare!!!

  2. Justin September 25, 2009 at 3:17 am #

    You keep on keepin on. I’m gonna go with citypaper’s columnists aren’t the best in taste.

Leave a Reply

