Zine Bazaar at the Baltimore Book Fest

26 Sep

Yesterday Sassyfrass tabled with some awesome folks as part of the Radical Bookfair Pavilion at the Baltimore Book Festival, including China Martens, Tuff Charm distro and After the Fall distro. In addition to picking up some sweet zines, I made about six dollars, with which I promptly purchased a “blendy freezy” from Red Emma’s and a light rail ticket with which to go visit my parents. Sweet deal.

Some zinerific pictures:
100_9448

100_9445
friendzzz making super cool mini-zines. i did not take the second picture.

100_9447
illz of tuff charm distro…look at all them free zines!

100_9439
spreadin’ the gospel.

100_9429
that’s my stuff on the right…splitting a table with China Martens!!

100_9438
i made some bangin’ trades with these folks.

100_9444
Please find someone who is not making a hilarious face in this picture.

100_9442
China reading her zine!

I think tabling at this particular event was an interesting experience, because I was one of like two personal zines there, with a couple of free distros. What I love most about zine fests is meeting all the folks who do personal zines and trading with them, and chatting with the folks who wander in and explaining what zines are etc., which is hard to do in a giant book fest with folks mostly browsing at high speed. But overall I was pretty psyched about the day. The best part was when a bunch of little kids were learning how to make zines, and also when my mom bought me some pad thai. Hellz yeah. I’m hoping that next year I will be living in Baltimore and helping to make the zine bazaar even bigger and more of a success. That is my evil master vagenda. Mwahahah.

Zines Not Dead,
jenna b.

8 Responses to “Zine Bazaar at the Baltimore Book Fest”

  1. vikki September 28, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    Thanks for posting these. I was bummed that I missed most of the Zine Fest. You didn’t, by chance, take any pictures or video of the zinemaking workshop did you? (I’m told that my daughter ended up leading the workshop!)

    I read all your zines. they are fabulous! Thanks for trading!

    vikki
    (editor of Tenacious: Art & WRitings from Women in Prison, and mother of the zine workshop leader)

    • sassyfrasscircus September 28, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

      this is the only one i got…she did a great job 🙂

      Photobucket

  2. sves September 28, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    who’s that person on the left in the first photo?
    she’s kind of (no, wait IS)a babe.
    can you post more photos of her in your daily life.

  3. sves September 28, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    oh yeah, yay to the hairy pits 😀

  4. china410@hotmail.com September 30, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    oh technology! I was so surprised to see these pictures! We didn’t even get to trade zines! We didn’t even get to talk to each other although we sat next to each other! what the heck! did you take one of my zines? I hope so. I got a copy from V. that she had but I wished I had another, we read your zine as bedtime reading on friday.

    I’m sorry I didn’t come back, I did not plan on leaving the zine table so long just was juggling watching Siu Loong (her mom was doing a reading in DC) and that it was supposed to be her “special day” in Baltimore with me so her care was a priority to me. We lost track of the time, then ran back… and shoot – it was over. But my stuff was all packed up nice.

    I get overwhelmed easily by different things going on at the same time.

    Sorry for being a lame “will you watch my table” and never come back zinester – and you should read next time! unless you really don’t like to. but its nice to share stuff with each other. thanks for being there and I WISH I got to talk to you. your commics are great and I love pet rats too. we used to have one called wetspot and one called Mousilina and one called Houdini – all my daughters growing up but I inherited the later two when she lost interest with them.

    i’m bummed we didn’t get to trade zines in person. I should have just done it at the begining but I thought I would be back.

    • sassyfrasscircus September 30, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

      it’s all good…things were crazy! my mom came to visit and i saw her for all of three seconds. i can mail you a zine if you want…unfortunately i didn’t get one of yours, where do you distro, i want to buy some!

      rats are the greatest 🙂 but my parents absolutely refused to let me leave mine at home when i left for college.

      • china410@hotmail.com October 2, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

        thats the thing … I dont’ really distro that much these days. atomic books has some zines, i think microcosm has some, but there I WAS with the most zines I’ve had zeroxed in a while, sitting right next to each other. DUH!

        i find it too hard/expensive to zerox and just make small runs of stuff these days and give them to a few peeps or put in local stores within a few block radius. I’ve never been THAT together with getting things distributed.

        send me your newer zine, I would love that and I will send you some stuff back, please 🙂

        p.o. box 4803
        baltimore MD 21211

Leave a Reply

