went to SPX today…

28 Sep

Ended up being totally overwhelmed by the whole thing and did not take any pictures while I was there. Here are some pictures of stuff i spent my hard earned money on:
100_9468
100_9469
100_9471
100_9478

Today I:
~Sounded like a total idiot trying to talk to folks i super-respect like Erika Moen of DAR: A Super Girly Top Secret Comic Diary. “Hey, uh, I, uh, I’m a pretty big fan of your work, uh.”
~Chatted with Dan Wyke who was really nice, traded zines with me, and also was distro’ing the Evil Issue of Always Comix in which we are both published.
~Talked to friends about starting a comix collective.
~Discovered the work of Liz Baillie who is awesome.
~Felt conflicted about wanting comix to be accessible and wanting to produce a higher quality print product that I would have to charge for.
~Decided to try harder.

not bad for my first comic con ever. i think i’ll have to wait a couple years before the next one since i probably will not have ten dollars ever again for a while.
❤ jenna bee.

4 Responses to “went to SPX today…”

  1. Shreen September 28, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Oh my lord, I have never seen such an exciting variety of zines in my life! *note to self, finish that zine you started ten years ago* Also your comics are great, I love your sense of humour. =]

  2. Milo September 29, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    OMG!!! I’m so jealous that you got to meet Erika Moen. We have a couple of her zines on QZAP, and she’s amazing. I’m guessing it’s going to be hard to travel right before thanksgiving, but have you thought about selling zines at the Milwaukee Zine Fest?

  3. Jem December 12, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    I like those drawings in the second picture. Who are they by?

    • sassyfrasscircus December 12, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

      Amy Rumbarger.

Leave a Reply

