Zines in the Mailbox!

7 Oct

queerzine

This week I’ve gotten 2 zines in the mail, from trading Sassyfrass Cuatro with folks in zine communities on livejournal. In case you don’t participate in zine trades, can I tell you, there is NOTHING more exciting than getting a new zine in the mail. It’s even more exciting than when my grandma sends me money!
Photo on 2009-10-07 at 01.03

I. All My Best Work I Do At A Slanted Angle by bernard?
Number 1, Spring/Summer ’09. B&W. 50 pages, half-sized. $3 or trade.

I have zine-traded with bernard? before and I am totally psyched to get a new zine from them. “All My Best Work” is described by bernard? as “For fans & connoisseurs of comix, mixtapes, vegan cookies, responsible sexuality, gender identity (& lack there of), Audre Lorde, familial dumpster dates, & Floridian alligators. Uh-huh uh-huh uh-huh.” Sounds good to me. I love the zine’s aesthetic–INTENSELY cut and paste, lots of collage and lots of different fonts. It’s really pleasing to look at and the tales don’t disappoint either. Definitely already a new favorite, but also a little too long to read in one sitting, so there are parts I haven’t experienced yet.

Photo on 2009-10-07 at 08.58
Photo on 2009-10-07 at 08.58 #2

Interested in getting a copy? Send a message to bernard? at trollgirlcentral [at] gmail [dot] com.

II. Tuff Town by Naomi Geraci.
#1, July 2009. B&W. 20 pages, half-sized. $1 or trade.

Tuff Town #1 is another zine with a beautiful classic cut n’ paste aesthetic–lots of cool pictures, typewriter font, handwritten notes. This one is all about being a queer punk kid in a small town, dealing with ghosts and drama, listening to punk and gardening and the ultimate dilemma: whether or not to move to San Francisco. The first page caught and held my attention right away.

Photo on 2009-10-07 at 09.01

“Queer kids all move to the Bay area eventually…And I went north, to be sure, but I could only get so far. Because there is the other truth that says that most people, queer or not, die no further than fifty miles from their birthplace.”

For Tuff Town #1 e-mail Naomi Geraci at ngeraci [at] hotmail [dot] com.

Alright friends, off to another unproductive day of wage slavery and the University Industrial Complex. Hope you have a good one.

❤ j. bee

2 Responses to “Zines in the Mailbox!”

  1. Bailey October 7, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    Will you please do a comic/drawing of the University Industrial Complex at some point?

  2. sves October 8, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    yay. naomi’s zine is amazing. we traded a while ago. i find the writing and story telling to be really grounding.

    ps. i am such a fan of you and your drawings and your comiics. i wish i could draw comics.

Leave a Reply

