There are few things I love more than getting mail.

10 Nov

This weekend I got a mix cd from this kid I’ve been chatting with on OKCupid (hey, pen pals come from all over), and another letter from A. Sparkles, greatest pen pal ever, who has just returned from the epic beet harvest in the frozen steppes of North Dakota. Right now I’m working on sending out more issues of Sassyfrass #4, trying to work a little on my thesis, and do the massive pile of dishes in my kitchen. I also have some design work due tomorrow, so probably no new comic today. Soon, soon.

Photo on 2009-11-10 at 09.32 #2
Ignore the fact that I still have massive bedhead. Although that’s actually what my hair usually looks like.

The mix’s theme was “Saudade” and included the following songs:
1. Cat Power- Rockets
2. Grouper- Heavy Water/ I’d Rather Be Sleeping
3. Crinkles- Minds Do Go
4. Department of Eagles- The Horse You Ride
5. The Castanets- Glory B
6. White Hinterland- Icarus
7. Grizzly Bear- Deep Sea Diver
8. Des Ark- If By Gay You Mean Totally Fucking Awesome, Then Yeah, I Guess It’s Pretty Gay
9. Wye Oak- For Prayer
10. Built to Spill- Life’s A Dream
11. Chad Van Gaalen- Mini TVs
12. Mount Eerie- Lost Wisdom
13. Cyann & Ben- Sweet Beliefs
14. Metallic Falcons- Airships

The mix I sent them with the same theme had these songs:
1. Ash Reiter- Elko
2. Annah- Tattered Screen Doors
3. Adele- Dayreamer
4. Karen Dalton- Are You Leaving For the Country
5. Okkervil River- Listening to Otis Redding at Home During Christmas
6. Emily Bate- Sorry About Arkansas
7. Dillard Chandler- I Wish My Baby Was Born
8. Jeff Mangum- My DreamGirl Don’t Exist
9. The Mountain Goats- Source Decay
10. The Felice Brothers- Christmas Song
11. Jeff Buckley- Mama, You Been On My Mind
12. The Microphones- I Felt Your Shape
13. Hurray For the Riff Raff- Amelia’s Song

❤ j bee.

One Response to “There are few things I love more than getting mail.”

  1. ramsey November 10, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

    that grouper song is so good! its on my fall mix that i make for people

Leave a Reply

