shaving.

28 Nov

this is an embarrassingly bad video, but everyone was too drunk to help me make it the night before, so i had to do it quick with my crappy camera stuck on top of a cardboard box on top of the toilet before going to my folks for thanksgiving.

i decided to shave my facial hair because i didn’t want it to be a topic of conversation or argument when i came home this weekend for thanksgiving and my grandmother’s memorial service. there were about 40 people at our house and i just decided i couldn’t deal with it. i don’t like the feeling of day-old stubble on my chin, it itches and is uncomfortable but is better than the feeling of residue and the irritation and break-outs from waxing. also there is something about the process that i enjoy, maybe because of the perception of gender transgression in a female person shaving their face, even if it is ultimately for the purpose of passing. which is also why i am posting this video, despite it’s roughness…i suppose i’m interested in the dialectic between the desire to pass and the desire to transgress and intentionally not pass. more on this later…

i shaved my beard because i didn’t want to talk about it, but of course my mother still brought it up. she wants me to get laser hair removal. i was pretty proud of myself that i told her that i didn’t want to, because i like my facial hair. i’m sure this is going to continue to be an ongoing argument. but shaving at least lessens the amount of familial nagging i receive, and does not preclude the possibility of growing my facial hair back.

which i am going to do.

back to comics probably on sunday, when i have access to a scanner.

❤ j.bee

7 Responses to “shaving.”

  1. jem December 12, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    That stinks that your mom thinks that. It was really cool seeing a female person shave their face. I find it really funny(ironic) how upset some people can get over women and shaving. Especially when its like a certain area,..like my mother waxes her upper lip. Even though she has really light(transparent almost) body hair. Like me. So there isn’t really a point other than she is paranoid.

  2. Jane December 12, 2009 at 6:20 am #

    Hi Jenna. I’m Jane. I go to school in Chicago and I just randomly stumbled across your blog. Which must be karma, or fate, or something, because I’ve spent my past few weeks scouring the internet for some modern talk about female facial hair. All I really found was ways to remove it, which wasn’t really what I was looking for. I’ve struggled with my own facial hair for years, and it was purely coincidental (I found a photo of your journal drawing on the word “lame” and a link to your blog on Tumblr) that I found this. My mother too, has given both me and my sister hard times about our facial hair. I understand shaving to appease the family. But I’m glad you’re growing yours back (it looks damn good).

    I always feel a really awkward tying to speak to people via the internet, especially when we don’t have any prior knowledge of each other, but I really just want to thank you for putting this (and yourself) out there. I’ve looked at like three pages of your blog and I’m already so impressed and inspired.

    Also, in a completely non-creeper, but related note, I often sign my name as jbee (my last name begins with a B), and seeing yours certainly threw me for a loop. I always thought I was so cute and innovative thinking that one up. : )

    • sassyfrasscircus December 12, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

      Hi Jane! I’m glad you found my blog and that you commented, I think the best part about being really “public” about my facial hair has been meeting folks who are dealing with similar experiences. Have you thought about submitting to Femme a Barbe? It’s a zine I’m putting together about facial hair.

      Also, that’s hilarious that you sign your name as jbee! Obviously my first name starts with a j. and my last name starts with a b., and folks sometimes call me j.b., but I thought I was being creative too with the “bee.”

      Oh well, jbee’s unite.

  3. Leah July 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Okay, this is a really old post now I know, but I’ve just found your blog through Julia’s (A l’allure Garçonnière) blog and just wanted to say in a similar vein to Jane, thankyou. Facial hair (and general body hair actually) is something I’ve dealt with since I was about 11, which was hideous on self-confidence growing up. I actually had laser when I was about 16 (5 of the 6 free sessions on the nhs) and whilst it lessened in it places, actually it hasn’t got rid of it at all (probably because my hair is dark)… it hardly seemed worth the effort now that I look back! I salute you for being so forthright with talking, growing it out etc etc. Personally, I shave every morning, which is effort and yes I’m probably doing it to appease society or something (as opposed to my mother, who understands all too well what the dealio is), but ultimately, it makes me feel better and lessens the amount of confrontation/discussion I’d have to deal with on a regular basis. I’ve never been much for talking about it on my blog (though I have been considering it of late) but am usually quite open with friends and take the piss (because you gotta laugh, otherwise it has some ridiculous power!) and what have you. I think the only time it’s bugged me recently is thinking about this festival I’m going to in September, but my friend said no-one cares… the only problem is I think I still do. Anyway, it’s a slow road to acceptance and everyone has their own methods I guess. I do agree that talking is definitely a really great thing to do because it’s, comforting I suppose, knowing other people experiencing the same thing. Hope you’re well!

    • sassyfrasscircus July 14, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Hey Leah! I can’t super get into it because I am at work, but I definitely shave a lot of the time and since this post have also undergone some laser hair removal (with minimal results, whatever). I do think there is a lot to be said for feeling comfortable or okay with yourself. ALSO i am still taking submissions to my zine femme a barbe for another week if you want to send me something. 🙂

      • Leah July 15, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

        Sure thing, I can do something over the weekend. What kind of stuff are you looking for?

  4. sassyfrasscircus July 15, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    pretty much anything you feel like writing or drawing on the topic of gender and facial hair! sassyfrasscircus@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

