got a bunch of mail this week! including hella art/perzines

11 Dec


Got these little letters from Ocean Capewell and my fellow Girl Scout Camp counselor Squid. I like little letters because they say “I am really fucking busy but I was thinking of you and took the time to write you this little letter.” Expect some sweet little letters back.

I also received this epic letter from sves. It contains so many goodies that really it should be called a package. In addition to a letter and gorgeous original artwork by one of my favorite artists (sves, obviously), it also contained two great zines:

the everyday moment and

Armful of Too Much to Think About #1

Here is an inside page from Armful of Too Much to Think About:

the everyday moment is about roadtripping to Halifax and features a lot of sweet drawings. sves writes: “This zine is about me remembering things, about a town that I left, only to be reminded of the things while being on vacation.” The typwritten parts of the zine are a little hard to read but all is forgiven. The zine captures the almost surreal quality of leaving home, and the importance of taking risks. It’s 10 pages half-sized black & white photocopy hand-sewn with thread. Armful of Too Much to Think About is a little meatier in terms of page length and variety of content. sves writes: “The zine is a collection of stories and thoughts from the last year, as i moved out of my house and started to find communities and people that i felt comfortable in.” There are a lot of absolutely gorgeous drawings in this zine and writings on identity, love, sex, and how to make ROOT BEER CHOCOLATE CAKE which I really need to try. This zine is 20 pages half-sized black & white photocopy and stapled. To negotiate terms of getting your hands on one of these beauts, e-mail sves at artsves [at] gmail [dot] com (for now).

I also got a whole mess of zines from Chelsea Dirck, which was exciting because I forgot that I had sent her my zine!

Chelsea is a damn good artist, she has a lot of pages from these zines posted on her flickr so I would click that link I attached to her name and check them out. I don’t have time to do them justice since I really need to eat some microwaveable food and then go do massive amounts of work. But I will say that she uses the space of the zine in a way that I never thought to…each page is like a canvas and she uses negative space brilliantly. Each one is $3 or negotiated trade. More info here.

My stomach and my microwave are making a cosmic brain wave connection right now.

Hope everyone is staying warm…I live in a house shaped cube of ice.

❤ j.bee

4 Responses to “got a bunch of mail this week! including hella art/perzines”

  1. Hello Amber! February 8, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    Hey, I know Sves!

    • sassyfrasscircus February 8, 2010 at 1:19 am #

      word! they’re awesome!

  2. Amber veytia May 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    It am looking for a girl scout camp counselor who went by the name Squid… She was in texas… might you be pen pals with this person? Thanks in advance…

    • sassyfrasscircus May 26, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      Unfortunately the Squid that I was penpals with worked with me at Camp Conowingo, which is in Maryland! Good luck on your search…

Leave a Reply

