Will I see you at the Chicago Zine Fest?

13 Feb

Last night I bought my ticket to Chicago for the Zine Fest on March 12th and 13th. I am super excited and hope to see lots of amazing folks there, like Amber Forrester of Culture Slut! The first issue of Femme a Barbe will certainly be ready, and we’ll see about a new issue of Sassyfrass Circus.

This morning I did some knitting (making a scarf for an amigui) using this beautiful yarn I bought in Chile while watching reruns of Rupaul’s Drag Race. I really love the colors:

So far my favorite queens are Sonique and Tatianna. I could totally see Morgan McMichaels or Raven winning, I find Sahara Davenport to be a kind of boring performer but a lovely person, and I think Tyra Sanchez is the most obnoxious person on television. Go home.

Also, I got Naomi Geraci’s absolutely beautiful Tuff Town No. 2 in the mail a few days ago and finally have had a chance to sit down with it.


I am so in love with this zine…it’s one ongoing narrative about bike trips with friends, getting arrested, dealing with family…it’s not often that I sit there readying a zine and find myself nodding and saying “fuck yeah!” out loud. Tuff Town No. 2 is 48 pages quarter-sized, typewritten with a GORGEOUS cover. It’s one dollar or trade (a steal f’real!), write to Naomi Geraci at 136 Nectarine Ave. Goleta CA 93117. On page 41 Naomi writes about her arrest, “And despite generally being queer punk scum upon the ‘American Riviera’ I’m well aware that as a white kid of middle-class extraction, I’m not the one bearing the brunt of things. It would be so fucking cool if everyone else wrote zines about it too, but I know that even having the time is a massive privilege.” Dear Naomi: I love you, be my friend. You also make the greatest envelopes ever and I know zinesters everywhere are agreeing with me. In the words of the great Rupaul, CAN I GET AN AMEN?

Going to Baltimore tonight to visit the Fierceness.

Love,
J.Bee

One Response to “Will I see you at the Chicago Zine Fest?”

  1. Eric Johns March 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh, so I’m NOT the only queer zinester who watches RuPaul’s Drag Race… I was freaking for a bit there.

    Cool scarf.

Leave a Reply

