Tales from nerd camp.

8 Jul

Hey friends, camp has started to pick up the pace and the long hours and craziness is starting to fall into a pattern that involves a lot of fun and time is actually moving.

I wish I could post pictures of the kids and hilarious things like my students dancing to Gramaphonedzie during study hall, but it’s against camp policy.

So, here are the first mini-comic zines that I have copied:

“Mint” is mine, “Aaron the Merboy” is by my student Alex, and “The Adventures of Weird Hair Man” is by my student Loren. There are 7 more that I don’t have copies of yet, but they are swell.

A page of “Aaron.”

A page of “Mint.”

A page of “Weird Hair Man.”


Alex’s awesome comic about SB 1070. Notice that the frame of the comic is shaped like the state in question. Today we looked at political cartoons and this is definitely one of the most politically conscientious pieces that came out of it.

One of my favorite comics, by Jonathan, about how the class is exhausting and hard and he can’t wait to do it again tomorrow.

A toon by my student Malik in which the Earth evaluates our behavior. A little too leniently in my opinion, but super cute. My favorite part is, “I gave you a…An E!!! For how much you epically fail at keeping me clean.”

And here’s part of the chalkboard from a lesson I taught using Lynda Barry’s “Two Questions” and Joel Priddy’s “Onion Jack.”

This is shaping up to be a super-rewarding experience, even though I miss D.C. and Baltimore and my boo and my homiez. So far we’ve read Maus, Persepolis, American Born Chinese, and Understanding Comics, written one critical paper and finished several short comics assignments. Tomorrow we’re starting paper number two, and probably starting to read Mom’s Cancer.

I’ll be home soon…
❤ jb.

One Response to “Tales from nerd camp.”

  1. Aimee July 9, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Jenna, you are so cool. ❤

Leave a Reply

