Delta Delta Delta declares “Fat Talk Free” Week

20 Oct


Oh, how misguided, Fat Talk Free week.

jb.

5 Responses to “Delta Delta Delta declares “Fat Talk Free” Week”

  1. Octavia October 21, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    Hey, so I saw this today on tumblr and I think your point is valid, however, I always have buts lol. I’m pretty sure reclaiming and feeling unashamed of being fat or using the word fat would be OK to these girls. No one is saying I’m fat and proud is awful. I also want to point out that you stereotyped an entire sorority. I know tri deltas who are not white, not thin, and are also not straight. I’m sure the point is that using the word “fat” as a derogatory or self deprecating word is wrong. I’m sorry you may have felt dirty I didn’t see this today, but I think it would have made me feel quite the opposite.

    • sassyfrasscircus October 21, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      good running into you at the co-op, sorry i’m a spazz! but, as i said, we are pretty much on the same page here. my post is really not about end fat talk week or tri-delt, but rather a societal issue around the shaming of fat…i do wish they used a different descriptor instead of “fat talk” like…”end body shaming” maybe. because i think there is a possibility of making this about thin people calling themselves fat instead of actually changing anything around how we perceive certain bodies.

  2. rachael maddox October 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    love this. i appreciate your perspective. the “no fat talk” thing is new to me. agree that it could be a silencing/shaming experience. maybe, in fact, there should be lots of fat talk–talk about where the fat self-perception is coming from…questioning, in good health, if the desire to be “thinner” comes from an inner self-loving place, or from an outward place of needing to compare, compete, fit in and please.

    can next week be declared “honest fat talk” week?

    • sassyfrasscircus October 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

      i think next week should be “end corporate capitalism” week.

  3. M3 November 6, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Awesome. =)

Leave a Reply

