Rule number 3: Beards Match Everything

8 Nov


It’s true, beards do match everything. For folks who care, the dress was made by my mama (fabric and pattern from JoAnns) the coat is thrifted from Value Village and the bag is a knitting bag thrifted from my Aunt’s living room.

I spent this Sunday in Richmond for my friend Shira’s birthday–we drove down Saturday night and did some epic karaoke (which unfortunately I don’t have pictures of but maybe they will appear later). I participated in the following songs: Flagpole Sitta by Harvey Danger, Save Tonight by Eagle Eye Cherry, and Summer Girls by LFO. In the morning we ate brunch at Strange Matter, visited Shira at the toystore where she works, and also went to an expensive vintage store that I forget the name of, where I decided that I both need and can’t afford a hat with a birdcage veil. And a used bookstore called Chop Suey where I got Adrien Tomine’s 32 Stories and Joe Sacco’s Notes from a Defeatist. Foster got a great hat and a bowtie from Luxor Vintage Clothing. There was also a mini-clothing swap to precede the larger clothing swap us D.C. folks had to miss this evening. Today’s adventures also included this sassy lady from the internet!


Coffee is a timeless way to accessorize.


What kind of music would this indie band play?


Look at all this fashion.


The problem with clothing swaps is that I have been to very few swaps where there are people who wear above a size 12. So after trying to get myself into a hilariously small romper and a deceptively large-looking-but-actually-small dress, I ended up with a pretty cool hat.


So much fashion.

❤ jb

3 Responses to “Rule number 3: Beards Match Everything”

  1. julia November 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    look at this fashion.

    so much fashion

    dear god this is amazing. mainly the beard. but also your coat and your sass.

    • jbee November 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      coat: value village, 9 dollars.
      sass: god-given, priceless.

  2. shira November 19, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    Jordan’s hat and jean jacket: stolen from Shira
    your new hat: used to be Shira’s
    beautiful beard: at the store where Shira works

    I just thought the world should know I’m a source of fashion awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

