Milwaukee Zine Fest Weekend

15 Nov

After experiencing some luggage breakage on the metro Friday that threatened my sanity, and traveling literally by bus, train, and airplane, I made it to Milwaukee and got picked up by the great Milo Miller, always a sight for sore eyes and the start of a great weekend full of zines, new and old friends, fried food, and a boob-shaped dome full of cacti. Whaaaaat. Milwaukee weather was cold, but Milwaukee peeps was warm. ❤


By far my fanciest set-up ever. One day I will even stop making stupid faces when people take pictures of me. [photo credit Ramsey Beyer]


New BFFs, Kelly Shortandqueer and Jami Sailor. I think we were a three-headed zombie in a past life and just hung out and ate each others brains. Creepy? Yes.


The Fancy Zinesters chorusline. Book us now to a bookstore or brothel near you!


After dinner at The Palomino, loitering. [Photo by Ramsey Beyer]


Spring breaaaaaak! In addition to having fried pickles, fried jalapenos, fried okra, and fried everything, The Palomino boasted random girls dressed as fairies giving out free samples of absinthe mixed with gross things like Red Bull. It turns out absinthe tastes like butt, so I didn’t even finish that shot thing, but this picture is still hilarious. Plus I love these Chicago kids. What happens in Milwaukee stays in Milwaukee.


Post-zinefest touchin’ on the boob-dome. Which is actually a three-boob-dome botanical garden.

Also, after Milo drove my goofy booty to the airport at 4:30 am and I plane/bus/trained it back home, I haven’t actually been home yet. Most of these pictures I have stolen off of Facebook. If they are not credited they came from my camera or Kelly’s camera but I don’t remember which. I will probably have more pictures later when I get to upload again, such as what happens to your tongue when you eat straight up MSG, and how epic of a zine haul I ended up with.

xx ZINE WEEKEND BEST WEEKEND xx

❤ jb

3 Responses to “Milwaukee Zine Fest Weekend”

  1. Mckenzie November 15, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    I effin’ love your pink dress. This looks like so much fun. 😀

  2. Eric Johns November 25, 2010 at 4:41 am #

    You take the most amazing photos. ❤ Wish I coulda been there 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Milwaukee Zine Fest « your secretary is out - November 16, 2010

    […] is what Sassyfrass Circus has to say about MZF.  Little Jamie wrote about the fest, too. So did Faythe Levine, who snapped a picture of […]

Leave a Reply

