Museum Day!

13 Dec

Today B. and I went to the National Portrait Gallery and the Museum of Natural History! Sometimes I forget that pretty much the best part of living in the nation’s capital is that it is full of free museums. Also sometimes someone is selling donuts outside of the Portrait Gallery and that, my friend, is a good day.


Sheer joy.

So, the Hide/Seek: Difference and Desire in American Portraiture exhibit at the Portrait Gallery was pretty much a softball. Like I can’t believe anyone thinks this exhibit is controversial or edgy. It’s about as edgy as Glee. But there was an exhibit called A Fable for Tomorrow by Alexis Rockman that is absolutely brilliant. Seriously, the internet doesn’t do it justice if you can get to DC you have to see it. You can stay at my house.

The Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef was also pretty rad.


Hey guess what? “Mathematicians initially thought that hyperbolic geometry was ‘imaginary’ because it was so in contrast with common sense. Crochet allows you to experience it in a tactile and physical way.” –Dr. Daina Taimina

❤ jb

4 Responses to “Museum Day!”

  1. mad madge December 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    The crocheted coral reef looks awesome. I’ve been kind of wanting to see the Hide/Seek show. I didn’t even realize that it could be seen as controversial. Maybe because some of the artists were seen as controversial in the 80’s. Always interesting how these debates stay in the same holding pattern with little movement or “progress.” Perhaps the discourse remains in stasis so that there will be no actual “change'” whatever that means. People can just keep on getting worked up about the same antiquated debates.
    Alexis Rockman’s work seems pretty cool too. It is when I hear about art exhibits that I miss the East coast.

  2. nona December 15, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Oh, I *loved* the crochet coral reef. I also really enjoyed the Norman Rockwell exhibit at American History, but I am a sucker for nostalgia sometimes.

    • sassyfrasscircus December 15, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

      Yeah! I saw your pictures from your museum day. I didn’t go see the Norman Rockwell exhibit, but I did go see the young Elvis one. I guess I am also a sucker for nostalgia, albeit not so much the Norman Rockwell kind.

  3. Betty Rae January 1, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    I didn’t see the exhibit, but I loved the TED talk.

Leave a Reply

