What I wore.

10 Jan

This is what I wore to work on Friday. Tweed jacket with elbow patches discovered at an abandoned warehouse in Baltimore. Shirt and suede vest inherited from my grandmother. Black jeans originally from New York & Company. Boots from Double-H (borrowed from my darling cowboy). Gold pin on jacket from my aunt. The pictures were taken in the family locker room at the gym by my bro Foster.

Details:

I love this gold pin my Aunt Reva gave me for my birthday one year. She changed her name and it has her original initials on it, which look a whole lot like my initials, J.R.B. A lot of my clothes/ accessories have belonged at one point to family members, which is something I love about my wardrobe. As hokey as it seems, when I put on this shirt and vest, I always think about my grandmother.


The best thing about this jacket are the suede elbow patches. The worst thing about pants are how after a couple of years my thighs wear right through them, hence the patching.


Sorry for the super-awkward angle, I wanted to show the stitching.

Also, here is what I wore yesterday:

Carhartt union suit (one piece long underwear with a butt flap!) was a birthday present from my boo, Dickies overalls, Asolo hiking boots that have seen many a backpacking trip, red scarf from New York & Company, thrifted knit hat, quilted plaid shirt from my Dad’s giveaway pile.

❤ JB

7 Responses to “What I wore.”

  1. Iris January 10, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Lookin’ sharp!
    I love the way that the stripes on your shirt are different colours on either side of the buttons, rather than being symmetrical. That’s totally the sort of visual interest I love in an outfit.

    I found yr blog via tumblr and I can tell it is going to be a favourite. I love talking about clothes, but aside from my best friend Julia’s fashion blog (garconniere) there aren’t many I really get into, because, as you say, it’s tough to be anti-capitalist about fashion.

    • sassyfrasscircus January 10, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks! I love Julia’s blog, I’ve been desperately waiting for an update…

      One thing I’m struggling with is the branding aspect of fashion–it’s de rigueur in the fashion blogging world to say where clothes come from, right? As stated, it is damn tough to be anti-capitalist about fashion.

  2. Iris January 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Mhmm. I really am interested in what people have bought, and where, and for how much, but it’s mostly because I get REALLY excited about thrifting and clothes swaps and hand-me-downs and etc. Like, “oh you bought that for three bucks and shortened it by hand? Awesome.”

    But sometimes fashion blogs become online shopping blogs where it’s just like, Oh, I like that thing they are wearing! I will just click this link & buy me one too! This happens more than I’d like and I unfollow if I find myself doing it too much. I don’t like being made to feel that fashion is as simple as purchasing specific things, and I also don’t love it when being focussed on the brands you’re wearing makes you also really interested in becoming a brand yourself – even though that’s what bloggers are supposed to do, allegedly. Ha.

    • sassyfrasscircus January 10, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Yeah, I guess my fashion blog eludes leading people into immediate shopping by the fact most of my clothes are old as shit or bought off of clearance racks. Good luck finding this! MWHAHAHAHAHA. Until Carhartt starts sending me samples in the mail to review.

  3. RK January 11, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    the elbow patches on the blazer are pretty great. you’re also giving me some courage to start doing outfit posts…

    • sassyfrasscircus January 11, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      do it!

  4. alagarconniere January 25, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    i have a very similar button! i will try and find it to show you…

Leave a Reply

