work days, beach days

23 Jan

After days of cold weather fashion and a mysterious back injury that had me cursing the non-ergonomic work environment, my mother took my next-oldest sister and I to Playa del Carmen for the most tourist-y week of my life.

I got to cross stitch on the beach and drink coffee with tequila in it (which was actually gross).


They had all the ice cream you could eat, and a 24-hour snack bar with swings.


We went swimming in the Caribbean.


And my mom got ate by a donkey.

Here’s some of the cross-stitchin’ I got done:

They’ll probably be for folks in this pay-it-forward craft exchange I’m doing, so if you see this and you’re on my p.i.f. list, let me know if you want either of those.

Also I never posted these outfit posts from last week. The family changing room at the gym has become official photo studio to the stars.


Old Navy Sweetheart jeans, thrifted oxblood oxfords (Value Village), thrifted button-down shirt (Debois Textiles), thrifted jacket (from the closet of my old housie Andrew Bucket), embroidered wool scarf purchased in Dahab, Egypt.


Dress made by my mom, sweater and tights from Target, turquoise bracelet inherited from my grandmother, earrings from my aunt, boots from DSW. I wouldn’t normally wear those boots with that dress but it was snowing.

❤ JB

3 Responses to “work days, beach days”

  1. RK January 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I have mixed feelings about resorts (but I would definitely not say no were my parents to offer a vacation!) but all-you-can-eat ice cream and snack bar with swings sound pretty nice right now. And the fact that you’re in a photo with a bathing suit, when it’s minus temperature in this darned Canadian city I’m in.

    • sassyfrasscircus January 24, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      I totally agree with you…originally my mom offered to take us on a cruise and I sent her an email detailing all the reasons why cruises are ecologically and socially irresponsible (at best). And then she turned around and booked this! But it was a strangely affordable eco-resort and oh, was it warm.

  2. alagarconniere January 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    oh man so jealous. looks like fun! i haven’t been on an overseas family trip in ages. i went to colima, mexico with my partner’s family last year and it was so much fun, so ridiculous.

    also, CUTE OUTFITS.

Leave a Reply

