The best laid plans (Or, why editing a compilation zine sucks right now)

11 Mar

If you read this blog on the regular, you will know that I have pushed back the submissions deadline for Femme a Barbe 3 multiple times. I have also posted calls for submissions on multiple blogs and distro sites, made a Facebook invite, bugged my friends and gotten many promises of submissions. However, my last deadline has come and gone, and still have received only one submission. Don’t get me wrong it’s a great piece, but…

What is an editor to do? I have done community organizing and D.I.Y. projects for long enough to know that when people are busy, the work that nets the least personal gain is usually the first to go. I am aware that most zine people are notoriously flaky. I am notoriously flaky.

I wonder if I am not receiving submissions because Femme a Barbe as a project has reached its natural end–people are done with this venue of talking about gender and facial hair–and I should just lay it to rest and move on.

But if this is not the case, if people want to continue the conversations taking place in the pages of Femme a Barbe, then please submit. At least comment or send me a message to let me know that you’re planning to submit (or if you think I should give up). I started making zines because I was tired of one-sided conversations. Don’t leave me out in the cold here people.

–jb

Femme a Barbe seeks to promote discussions of identity and desire (and other themes!) through that stuff that grows (or doesn’t grow) on our faces. Whether you love it, hate it, want it, like people who have it, got rid of it or are trying to grow it….Issue 3 has a particular focus on relationships, romance, and attraction, but go ahead, deviate from that and see if i care.

From Issue 1: “To the Secret Freaks: Come with me! Dare to imagine a world full of women with beards and other gender outlaws, to imagine the possibilities of a feminist cultural politic that rejects the bullshit concern that feminism appear normal, a queer cultural politic that rejects the mainstream gay desire to assimilate and consume. Make a spectacle of yourself. Join the Femme a Barbe insurgency!”

All submissions must be:
5×8, Black and White or Grayscale
Images must be at least 350 dpi and JPEG
please send submissions to sassyfrasscircus [at] gmail [dot] com.

3 Responses to “The best laid plans (Or, why editing a compilation zine sucks right now)”

  1. Milo March 12, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    We’re having the same problem with QZAP:meta #5. I like to think that most people are just busy at the moment.

    • sassyfrasscircus March 12, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      is that the music issue? i could possibly submit…when is the deadline?

      • Milo March 13, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

        yup. Deadline was December 1, then Jan. 15, now… who knows? After CZF I’ll start to push it again. Hopefully we can get it out this summer. xoM

Leave a Reply

