I love penpals

7 Jan

I recently sent one of my penpals a copy of Interview Clothes and they sent this back:

Cutest!

JB

4 Responses to “I love penpals”

  1. kofykat January 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I want a penpal too. I miss my old ones… I remember writing to her as a kid, but with the advent of technology, we lose these simple pleasures. 😦

    • sassyfrasscircus January 7, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      It doesn’t have to be! Getting a letter is so much better than an email, and its easy to send a letter!

  2. Love To Crochet January 17, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    I too remember penpals as a child. So refreshing to get a letter in the mail instead of the world of instant “texts”.

  3. jvoor March 3, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    I love penpals too!

    When I was in college I wrote a letter to my surrogate grandfather almost every week and he would write me back. (I loved that he typed all the letters up on the computer and would print them and send them in snail mail. Occasionally he would email–but his emails were like telegraphs, very short and to the point. “rec’d your letter. will see you for lunch on Tuesday. all my love).

    Whenever I was home on break my sister and I would visit him and have “lunch dates.” He passed away my senior year, and along with the loss of the wonderful person that he was, I also lost my faithful penpal. Still I am so glad that I have the stacks of letters he sent me, as well as the ones that I sent to him as he returned them to me. It is wonderful to re-read our correspondence.

    I continue to write tons of letters to people, but haven’t found anyone who has the time or desire to write regularly. You are write that there is nothing better than a letter in the mail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

