Books and Blogs

25 Jun

My review of Leela Corman’s graphic novel Unterzakhn is up at The New Inquiry. Check it out?

Also, you can now purchase Make Your Own History: Documenting Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century, edited by Lyz Bly and Kelly Wooten, from Library Juice Press. I drew the illustration on the cover and they also reprinted a section of mine and Jami Sailor’s zine Archiving the Underground. The book is full of useful essays by really smart folks that will meet all of your queer and feminist archiving needs. Highly recommended.

I didn’t get a chance to scan it, so here is a weird space phone picture:

And the e-book that included a bunch of my graduation/ grad-school anxiety comics, Share or Die, is also available for purchase! I haven’t gotten my contributors copy yet, but I have it on good authority that it is a better book to buy for the recent college graduate in your life (and tuck a check inside), than any book about what color your parachute should be or whatever. This book will actually speak to the terror and unlimited possibilities new grads are stepping into. Get on it!

In the zine world, in addition to working on new issues of Archiving and Sassyfrass Circus, I am also working on a new issue of Femme a Barbe (queer/feminist facial hair zine) and still accepting submissions for Doykeit (queer/feminist rad Jewish zine). So if you’re interested in submitting to either of those projects, email me at sassyfrasscircus@gmail.com. Also, July is apparently International Zine Month. Alex Wrekk made this cool list of recommended activities, and though it doesn’t appear that “Submit to JB’s zines” is on it, I think it totally should be.

❤ jb

3 Responses to “Books and Blogs”

  1. Alex Wrekk June 25, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    Aw, you are right! Find a zine to submit your work to would have been a great addition. Oh well,there is always next year.

  2. lcorman June 25, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    I want to thank you for that very well-written review of my book. You really grasped what I was going for (even, or perhaps especially, with the shund – I like a story that flirts with melodrama; Almodovar is my idol). I wouldn’t write, because in general I believe in letting reviews stand as they are, except that you’re the second reviewer who wrote that the character of Isaac is an alcoholic. He’s not! He only drinks tea! I’m not sure what mistake I made, that now two people think that. The liquid in the glasses is always steaming hot and there’s always a bowl of sugar cubes at hand. He’s just a semi-catatonic PTSD case.

    In any case, thank you! It was a pleasure to read, and I especially appreciate your comments about Ashkenazi culture. I have absolutely no connection to Israeli culture; my mother’s family all came to New York after WW2 and they were unreconstructed Yiddish people. I feel quite connected to their world, and to the world of Yiddish New York, and I wanted to explore that here. And I know what you mean about zombified horas. In my family the horas were very spirited, because they were old-country style! No zombies here.

    • sassyfrasscircus June 27, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      I’m glad you enjoyed the review! I just finally saw The Skin I Live In…there are no words. Almodovar will always own my heart.

      Also, I have no idea why I thought Isaac was an alcoholic? That’s so weird! Then again, I was also confused as to why there were two characters named Meyer. And then I was skyping with Vlada (whose blog I mention in the review), and she was like “that’s totally the same character.” It’s a thick story! There’s a lot to tease out.

Leave a Reply

