Gilgul, Poland (analog)

24 Jul

Less than 24 hours after landing in Newark and already I feel like I didn’t take enough pictures, that these pictures are of the wrong things (which at the time was not entirely intentional)–instant photographs, blurry, low res, bad contrast–for the most part of the places everyone visits, things everyone does (this is March-of-the-Living-Poland, I worry). I am tellingly displeased with the narrative of these photographs, astonished at how quickly i fell into this visual trope, without using up a fraction of the film i brought with me. And at the same time, each token photograph is filled with a set of memories that betray the flatness of the image; sweating and dancing during Yiddish Princess at the Jewish Culture Festival, Shabbat services in at a pre-war synagogue in Warsaw, wildflowers and frogs at Auschwitz. And I do have photographs of these things (except Shabbat services) that I haven’t yet parsed through, .jpeg files on my digital camera, which seemed easier to pull out and snap photos of endless variations of szarlotka, awful museum exhibits and cherry-pit spitting contests. As my blog-viewers probably realize, I’m decreasingly fond of writing anything at all, but I feel like I need to warn viewers that this is not Poland for real (complicated as it is), maybe because of the Jewish man on the flight home from Munich who said he would prefer never to visit Poland, and my own prejudices at the beginning of my trip. These are just some photos that I took.

cemetery
[site of former Jewish cemetery, destroyed under Nazi occupation (Krakow)]

krakow
[watching Yiddish Princess perform at the Jewish Culture Festival (Krakow)]

remu
[reconstructed matzevot at the Remu synagogue, originally destroyed under Nazi occupation (Krakow)]

ghetto
[memorial marker on the line of the former Warsaw ghetto wall (Warsaw)]

wall
[a remnant of the Warsaw ghetto wall (Warsaw)]

warsaw
[Nożyk Synagogue (Warsaw)]

warsawcemetery
[Jewish cemetery (Warsaw)]

treblinka
[memorial at the site of the former Treblinka death camp]

auschwitz
[inside a reconstructed wooden barrack at Auschwitz-Birkenau]

birkenau
[outside the barbed-wire fence/ newly cut grass at Auschwitz-Birkenau]

One Response to “Gilgul, Poland (analog)”

  1. Bani Amor July 25, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    i always feel that way with photos after trips. write the memories down while they’re still fresh!

Leave a Reply

