How Does Art Fit Into Your Life?

12 Sep

This is a question that I am constantly pondering, since my career path has often been presented back to me as having NOT chosen art–that since I am an ACADEMIC, art is therefore a hobby, something I don’t have time for, that is preventing me from getting real work done, something that I study but do not produce, something in the margins of my life (and my class notes).

So, when best art teacher, friend and artist Sves asked me “How does art fit into your life?” as a prompt, I was left basically grasping for straws. How? More or less shoved in there, like a sleeping bag in a stuff sack (I am going camping this weekend).

The real crux of the assignment, which I have yet to complete, is more of a game plan. How am I going to MAKE art fit into my life?

how does art fit

[And, I suppose, if folks want to talk about this, how do you make art fit into your life?]

❤ jb

p.s. these are literally all the colors of copic sketch markers that i own. #funfacts

2 Responses to “How Does Art Fit Into Your Life?”

  1. Jacquie Brager September 14, 2014 at 9:15 am #

    Art doesn’t “fit” in, it is “part of” life. It becomes part of ones means of communication, concentration and celebration. In order to produce, there must be a creative outlet otherwise there is anxiety and obstructed consciousness.

    • sassyfrasscircus October 18, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

      thanks mooooommmm

Leave a Reply

